Links | FAQ | Jobs | Contact
Home > Structure

Full members, associate members and observer members

All the national bars and law societies of the 28 members of the European Union and of the three members of the European Economic Area (Norway, Liechtenstein and Iceland) are full members of the CCBE, together with Switzerland. In addition, bars and law societies from a number of other European countries are associate members (Council of Europe countries in official negotiations for accession to the European Union) or observer members (other Council of Europe countries). Like full members, the associate and observer members must adhere to the statutes of the CCBE and adopt the CCBE Code of Conduct.

Each national delegation consists of up to six individuals, depending on the size of the country and the organisation of its legal profession. The associate and observer countries are entitled to one representative at the plenary sessions and to attend other committee meetings at the invitation of the CCBE president. The CCBE's funding is provided through annual dues paid by all members, whether full, associate or observer.



A president and three vice presidents are elected for one-year terms.



There is a full-time secretary general, who manages the day-to-day affairs of the organisation through a secretariat based in Brussels.

More >>

User login


Forgot your password?