

## **CCBE** Resolution on the Fight against the Death Penalty

## **CCBE** Resolution on the Fight against the Death Penalty

The Council of the Bars and Law Societies of Europe (CCBE), which through the national Bars and Law Societies of the Member States of the European Union and the European Economic Area represents more than 700,000 European lawyers, strongly opposes the death penalty in all circumstances and considers it a violation of the first right of any human being, i.e. the right to life.

The right to life is guaranteed by all major international and regional human rights treaties. The European Court of Justice has interpreted the right to life as "an inalienable attribute of human beings" and a "supreme value in the international hierarchy of human rights". 1

The CCBE welcomes the commitment that many Bars and associations of lawyers have made towards the objective of abolishing the death penalty.

The CCBE remains deeply concerned about the persistence of the death penalty in many countries around the world.<sup>2</sup> The CCBE strongly believes that the abolition of the death penalty contributes to the fostering and protection of human dignity and the gradual development of a global culture of human rights.

**The CCBE, therefore, urges** all countries where the death penalty still exists to abolish it or at least impose a moratorium on it, and to adhere fully to the right to life. Furthermore, the CCBE calls upon those Member States of the Council of Europe which have not yet ratified Protocol 13 to the ECHR to do so without delay, so that the wider European area becomes a genuinely death-penalty-free zone.<sup>3</sup>

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> European Court of Human Rights, judgment in the case of *Streletz, Kessler and Krenz v. Germany*, 22 March 2001, in particular paragraphs 72, 85, 87 and 94.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> See list: http://web.amnesty.org/pages/deathpenalty-countries-eng

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> The Council of Europe Member States that did not sign Protocol 13 are Armenia, Azerbaijan and Russia. The Member States that did not ratify the Protocol 13 are Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, France, Italy, Latvia, Moldova, Poland, Russia and Spain.