Welcome to CCBE | About | How we work





A president and three vice presidents are elected for one-year terms. There is a secretary general, who manages the day-to-day affairs of the organisation through a secretariat of 11 full-time staff, based in Brussels.





All the national bars and law societies of the 28 members of the European Union and of the three members of the European Economic Area (Norway, Liechtenstein and Iceland) are full members of the CCBE, together with Switzerland. In addition, bars and law societies from a number of other European countries are associate members (Council of Europe countries in official negotiations for accession to the European Union) or observer members (other Council of Europe countries). Like full members, the associate and observer members must adhere to the statutes of the CCBE and adopt the CCBE Code of Conduct.

Decision making



CCBE Committees & working groups


Specialist committees and working groups made up of nominees and experts from the national delegations research and report on a wide range of areas affecting the European legal profession. Topics include lawyers' ethics, competition as it affects the legal profession, the free movement of lawyers, training of lawyers, international trade in legal services, and human rights. In recent years, working groups have focused on such subjects as money laundering, legal aid, divorce, European contract law, alternate dispute resolution and corporate social responsibility.